Dreams In Polymer Clay And Wire

Handmade Chain & Free Wire Jewelry Patterns

04/22/2008 22:34

Due to some pressing issues in life, my works in progress have been on hold for a little while. I've been a bit stuck in finishing the wonderful gemstone wire sculpture pendants I've created.

 

The most recent issue of Step by Step Beads' Wire Jewelry magazine is their best issue ever! There is a wonderful article on making spiral chain that caught my attention. Anyone who knows me knows how much I love spirals and that they are my personal symbol, representing the cyclical nature of life and spirituality. I've made one solid chain to enhance an amazing moss agate and another with peach agate bead units to complete a beautiful peach agate. I experienced a bit of creative block in trying to decide what I wanted to do with the others.

 

I've dusted off my old copy of Jewelry With Wire to get some ideas. The instructions in the book were difficult to read when I was a beginner, so it's been on the shelf for about five years. Now that I have more experience, it seems like a different book. I found a pattern for "wiggle" links that I'd like to use. In the process of practicing and trying to determine how much wire to use, I managed to injure my thumb with the wire - it went through pretty deeply. It's just sore, no need for amputation, but it's delayed me a bit further.

 

This week I received About.com's Jewelry Making Newsletter. Editor Tammy Powley has a nice page with free wire chain patterns. Most don't require soldering.

 

Enjoy, and have a prosperous and creative week!

 

 

Search site

Contact